Sixty for 60: 19. Pom Pom Squad

To celebrate my 60th birthday, I asked my social media friends to nominate a favourite song from 2021 – 60 to commemorate the fact I am 60.

Today, it’s Roddy Thomson‘s chance to blow my mind with Pom Pom Squad. I mean, wow. I think the song he nominated is ‘Lux’, which is hard and bitter and brutally brief and kicks grungy bottom in a way that reminds me of fucken Shannon And The Clams and the God-like FUCKEN GENIUS of Babes In Toyland, only simultaneously like, but I ain’t sure because the last 24 hours has been a rabbit hole that I have found myself disappearing deeper and deeper downwards, barely anticipating the myriad twists and turns and snatches of birdsong, bruised often at the sheer wonder of it all, loving upon loving everything there is to be loved about Mia Berrin and Pom Pom Squad, crushing hard here, crashing hard there, senses alive and tingling from the energy and attitude, just fucken in too deep to find an easy or pleasant way to withdraw, not that I want to. Not that I fucken want to.

Shout out to Agent Ribbons.

I mean, seriously. Any band who so gets Joan Jett’s take on ‘Crimson And Clover’ and takes it in several new disturbing directions, forcing me to confront my own misgivings and failings and sexuality, has gotta be … God. Wow. I don’t know. Fucken incredible. As one comment on the YouTube video stated, “This fucks so hard”. Fucks. And rocks. Or, as Pond magazine puts it, “New York’s Pom Pom Squad, Better Than Your High School Cheer Team”:

Pom Pom Squad, a project fronted by Mia Berrin, is a musical diary entry influenced by the sounds of garage rock and RIOT GRRRL. Originally based out of Orlando, Florida, Mia began recording demos in her teenage bedroom before moving to New York City. Read More ->

Leave a comment